Hiding An Azure AD Sync’d Group or User from Global Address

I have a Azure AD Synced group that I don’t want people to see from the address book. Since it’s a synced account I can’t do much in Office 365 console once it’s synced.

So how can I do that? Turns out, it’s pretty easy and straightforward.

Open Active Directory Users and Computers on your computer, make sure Advanced Features is checked under View tab.

image 2 - Hiding An Azure AD Sync'd Group or User from Global Address

Find the account, double-click it, and go to the Attribute Editor tab. Scroll down until you find one attribute called msExchHideFromAddressLists. Double-click it and set the value as True.

image 3 - Hiding An Azure AD Sync'd Group or User from Global Address

And then wait until the next sync cycle finishes before seeing the group or user disappearing from the list.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *